Online traffic ticket payment is here!
The Branchville Municipal Court can now accept online payments for traffic tickets issued by officers of the Branchville Police Department.
1. You need to know your ticket number.
It's printed in red at the bottom right corner of your ticket (citation).
Beginning July 17, 2015, most of the tickets issued by Branchville police officers have four numbers, followed by one letter, and seven more numbers.
All of the tickets issued by Branchville police officers before July 17, 2015, as well as a few tickets issued since that date, have five numbers followed by two letters. Most -- but not all -- recently issued tickets end in "GV" or "GQ."
If you cannot find your ticket or ticket number, call the Clerk of Court's office at (803) 274-8000 between 8-12 or 1-5 weekdays.
If your ticket number consists of one letter followed by six numbers, call the South Carolina Highway Patrol for instructions on how to pay your ticket.
2. You need to know that your ticket was issued by an officer with the Branchville, South Carolina, Police Department.
Here are some ways to tell:
- The ticket is light blue.
- The court time is 6 p.m. on the second Tuesday of a month.
- The issuing officer's name is Clark, Cokley, or James. (If it has Bonnett or another name, read paragraph #5 below and call the Clerk of Court at 803-274-8000 during business hours before attempting to pay online.)
The Branchville Municipal Court can only accept payments for tickets issued by Branchville Police officers.
We cannot accept payments for tickets issued by South Carolina Highway Patrol officers, State Transport Police, Orangeburg County Sheriff's Office deputies or any other law enforcement officers, even if the ticket was written within the town limits of Branchville, South Carolina.
It's better to know correctly than to guess incorrectly, so if you are unsure, please call the Clerk of Court's office during business hours.
If you have already paid a ticket that was not issued by the Branchville Police Department, please call the Clerk of Court's office, confirm your current mailing address, and we will mail you a refund check. We cannot forward your payment to another court.
3. You need to know you will have to pay a service fee to pay online.
A third-party vendor processes online credit card payments and charges a service fee of $1 per transaction, plus 1.7 percent of the amount paid.
This is the lowest fee charged by any of the vendors we considered partnering with.
Your total payment, including the fee, will be clearly displayed before you are asked to confirm the final payment. If you do not wish to pay this fee, cancel the transaction and use another payment method, such as a money order or bank cashier's check, or pay in person with cash.
But keep in mind, the issuers of money orders and bank cashier's checks often charge a similar amount for those payment options.
4. You need to know that you can print out a receipt or have one e-mailed to you, or both.
While you are paying online, you will be asked to enter your email address if you want a receipt emailed to you.
On the next payment screen, there is a box to click if you wish to print a paper copy of your receipt.
Please select one or both options. If necessary, the Clerk of Court's office can provide a receipt, but it will not look like or contain as many details as the receipt issued by the payment processor.
5. You need to know your court date.
If it is still coming up in the future, please proceed.
If it was less than two weeks ago, please proceed.
If it was more than two weeks ago, you probably can use the online payment service, but please first call the Clerk of Court's office. If we have already sent your paperwork to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, we must verify your current mailing address so we can mail you a special document ("blue sheet") that you will need to take to a DMV office of your choice to avoid or lift the suspension of your driver's license!
Online payment is new for us. But our vendor has many years of experience and many clients. This specific system was tested and re-tested and passed with flying colors before it went live, and has successfully processed many dozens of payments.
To pay your ticket online, click on the set of credit/debit card icons below:
If you encounter any problems whatsoever, please call (803) 274-8000 between 8-12 or 1-5 weekdays.
Here is another link to the payment site.